Sponsors
Like/Tweet/+1
Keywords

Is more better?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Is more better?

Post by yort82 on Tue 11 Sep 2012, 4:26 am

Hi all,

I'm new to the hobby, and in the process of researching a new saltwater build. I see that there's a ton of different ways to accomplish the same thing and achieve the same results. I want a tank that is not only beautiful, but also, easy to maintain. Money, of course, is a factor... but I'm willing to wait for the stuff I'll need or piece things together as I go.

My main question is: Is more equipment/filtration/reactors/etc... better?

For example:

I'm considering at least a 90g build (and possibly up to 120g). I'd like to eventually keep LPS & SPS coral. I know (I think I do anyway) that keeping SPS coral requires excellent water quality. I'd like to be able to achieve that water quality and keep it there, and require only minimal,easy maintenance.

I'll have a sump with protein skimmer, refugium, and return section. Also looking into a carbon reactor, GFO reactor, along with dosing a 2 part calc mix. I'm also thinking about a BioPellet reactor as it does some things that the others do not. I know this is a lot of equipment, and that's why I'm asking. Some of this will be redundant.. It seems as though if you have a protein skimmer, you shouldn't need a GFO reactor due to the non-buildup of phosphates. But I keep thinking I'd like to have it just in case phosphates do start to rise for some reason... same goes for the BioPellet reactor... It shouldn't be needed if the skimmer is doing it's job, right? If it doesn't hurt, and I have the room for it, I would really like that extra layer of protection...

I keep racking my brain trying to figure out what would help or hurt!

Any comments, questions, or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you,
Troy

yort82
Monti Cap
Monti Cap

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Is more better?

Post by grawlfang on Tue 11 Sep 2012, 2:26 pm